Protect Yourself from Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists
In Florida, we have a no-fault system of insurance. What this means is that if you get into an accident and incur damage to your car and/or injuries, the payment for these comes from your own insurance, rather than the person at fault. However, if you are injured severely and exceed your personal limits, the other driver may be required to pay for certain damages. But, what happens if that driver also doesn’t have enough insurance to cover the full cost? Or even worse, what if they have no insurance at all? That’s where uninsured motorist coverage comes in.
The minimum personal injury protection (PIP) limit in Florida is $10,000, which at first glance seems like a lot. Many people look at their PIP amounts and think it will be more than sufficient to cover their needs in an accident. Hillsborough County is nearly $4,000, it’s easy to see how that $10,000 could disappear quickly. The cost of healthcare, especially in emergency settings, can be astronomical, and once that PIP is gone, you won’t be able to recover compensation for medical bills, lost income, or any of the other myriad expenses that can arise. Uninsured motorist insurance provides a supplement to your existing PIP levels so that if you do get into a situation in which the other driver can’t cover the costs, your medical bills will still be covered.
If you have questions about uninsured motorist coverage, or you’ve been in an accident with a driver who didn’t have adequate insurance, contact Barbas Law today. Our Tampa personal injury lawyers will be happy to answer any questions you may have.