Category Archives: Car Accident FAQ
Unless you go to court to contest the ticket and win, you can’t get out of the fine. But, depending on the violation and the circumstances, you may be able to attend traffic school to avoid points and even to lower the fine. Look on the back of your ticket for ways to resolve… Read More »
If you owe significantly more on your vehicle than it is worth, then you may want to consider GAP insurance. Think about if you could cover the cost of that difference in addition to any medical bills or other damages incurred in an accident. If you don’t think you could comfortably do so, then… Read More »
GAP insurance is a line of insurance you can buy to cover the difference between the actual value of your vehicle and the amount you owe on it. So for example, if you owe $15,000 on your auto loan, but the actual value is only $10,000 then your GAP insurer would pay for the… Read More »
In short, yes. Even if you feel fine right after the accident, issues can arise days, weeks, and even months later, and it’s important to see a doctor to get a professional opinion. This will also provide you with important documentation that can affect the outcome of your case.
Insurance companies have to worry about their bottom line, so they often try to pay out as little as possible for claims. Considering this, it’s always advisable to consult with a lawyer before settling. Your Tampa lawyer can evaluate your case and what your claim could be worth, and oftentimes, they can better negotiate… Read More »
Signed into law in 2005, the Graves Amendment was a passage put into a huge federal transportation bill. It limits the liability of rental car companies with regard to injuries sustained in an accident with one of their vehicles, excepting cases in which they knowingly rented a faulty vehicle.
Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, provides coverage of up to $10,000 for the owner of the vehicle, relatives who live in the same home as the insured, the person driving the vehicle, any passengers in the vehicle, and anyone hit by the vehicle. It also covers children of the insured who are hurt while… Read More »
In the state of Florida, drivers are only required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PD). However, you can also opt to add uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects you in the case that you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or insufficient insurance… Read More »
Since 1971, Florida has had a no-fault law, meaning that a driver who is involved in an accident would collect medical, disability, and other compensation from their own insurance company, regardless of whether or not they caused the accident. This means that you don’t have to wait for the two companies to argue over… Read More »
First, and most importantly, obtain immediate medical care for anyone who has suffered injury. If possible, gather as much information as you can regarding each party involved in the accident as well as any potential witnesses. The information you should gather includes names, telephone numbers, addresses, insurance information and information regarding their vehicles. If… Read More »