Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

Sarasota Workers’ Compensation Claim Lawyer

Were you injured on the job? You could be eligible to obtain benefits by filing a workers’ compensation claim. Under Florida workers’ compensation law, injured employees can be eligible to receive a variety of benefits, including lost wages or wage replacement, as well as medical care. Yet the claims process can be complicated, and insurance companies are often looking for reasons to deny an injured worker’s claim. By seeking representation from a Sarasota workers’ compensation claim lawyer, you can ensure that your claim will be filed in a timely manner, and that it will include all the documentation and other materials necessary for you to get the financial compensation you deserve. One of the dedicated Sarasota workplace injury lawyers at our firm can get started on your workers’ compensation claim today.

What is a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Sarasota?

Florida law requires a large majority of employers to have workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Workers’ compensation insurance is a no-fault insurance that allows an injured worker to file a claim without needing to prove that his or her employer was negligent, while also remaining eligible for full benefits even if the worker’s own negligence played a role in causing the injury.

Employers obtain workers’ compensation insurance by purchasing a policy or self-insuring. Once an employee gets hurt at work, that injured employee can file a claim through the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Understanding the Sarasota Workers’ Compensation Claims Process

The process for filing a workers’ compensation claim is quite specific, and it is important for injured employees to be clear about how the process works. The following are the steps you will need to take when you file a workers’ compensation claim:

  • Notification: Notify the employer about the injury or occupational illness within 30 days from the date of the injury or the date you first learned about the condition (but ideally, as soon as possible). If you do not notify your employer before that 30-day window runs out, you can lose your eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits. When you provide your employer with notification, you need to clarify the date the accident happened, how it occurred, and what signs or symptoms of injury you have.
  • See a Doctor: The Florida workers’ compensation system allows your employer to choose the doctor you will see for your workplace injury. Once you notify your employer about the injury, the next step will be seeing the healthcare provider your employer selects. When you see the doctor, you will need to have your injury evaluated, and you will need to provide the doctor with information about how the injury occurred.
  • Contact the Workers’ Compensation Insurance Company: This step is only necessary if your employer does not report the injury within 7 days from the date of your notification.
  • Workers’ Compensation Investigation: Once your claim is filed, the workers’ compensation insurance company will investigate the claim. It can approve your claim or deny it.
  • Appeal: If your claim is denied, you have options for appealing the denial of benefits.

Contact Our Workers’ Compensation Claims Lawyers in Sarasota

If you need assistance filing a workers’ comp claim or appealing a denied claim, an experienced Sarasota workers’ compensation claims attorney at our firm can assist you. Contact Barbas Nuñez Sanders Butler & Hovsepian for more information.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation