Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

Sarasota Lost Wages Lawyer

When you’ve been injured at work or suffer from a work-related occupational illness, it’s a relief to know that Florida workers’ compensation laws cover the costs of treatment for qualifying employees. Going forward, any care you require for your condition will be covered by your employer’s insurance company. However, you may have grave concerns about the income you lose when you’re unable to work because of your ailment. Many workers in your position ask the same question: Does Florida workers’ compensation cover lost wages?

It’s not possible to provide a definite Yes or No, since not all employees are eligible to obtain wage benefits in every situation. Our team at Barbas, Nuñez, Sanders, Butler & Hovsepian, Attorneys and Counselors at Law can provide more information after reviewing your circumstances, so please contact our office to schedule a free consultation with a Sarasota lost wages lawyer. In addition, some answers to common questions may be helpful.

Florida Lost Wages FAQs

Does Florida workers’ compensation cover lost wages? Yes, if you qualify under the strict workers’ comp requirements, you may be able to obtain the income you missed out on while not working. Florida employers are required to carry workers’ comp insurance to cover the losses of injured employees, including lost wages.

What’s included in lost wages? Your benefits are based upon your Average Weekly Wage (AWW) over the last year before you were unable to work because of an injury or illness. However, your AWW encompasses more than just your regular hours in a work week. Lost wages may include:

  • Overtime hours;
  • Performance or periodic bonuses;
  • Non-cash compensation, such as tuition reimbursement or payment of per diem expenses; and,
  • Other forms of compensation designated by law. 

Do I qualify to obtain lost wages under Florida workers’ comp laws? Generally, you’re eligible for workers’ compensation benefits if you’re an employee who was hurt in a work-related accident or contracted an illness because of on-the-job conditions. Your benefits begin on Day 8 if your condition lasts less than 22 days; they start on Day 1 if your ailment continues beyond 21 days. 

What lost wages benefits can I obtain? Your lost wage benefits are based upon whether your disability is total or partial, and whether it’s temporary or permanent in nature. Therefore, you may be eligible for:

  • Temporary total disability at a rate of two-thirds your AWW, until you go back to work;
  • Temporary partial disability, when you can work but may earn less than you would at your regular position;
  • Permanent partial disability, which is based upon the percentage of capabilities you lost;
  • Permanent total disability, when your medical condition will not improve and renders you unable to work.

Contact a Sarasota Workers’ Compensation Lawyer with Additional Questions

As you can see, answering the question “Does Florida workers’ compensation cover lost wages?” is far from simple. Still, our team at Barbas, Nuñez, Sanders, Butler & Hovsepian, Attorneys and Counselors at Law can offer personalized information after reviewing your unique situation. Please contact our Sarasota office today at 800.227.2275 or go online to set up your no-cost case evaluation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation